Migration Patterns Research
Migration and Immigrant Communities
Census.gov Foreign Born
To see statistics on foreign born population of San Diego County. This is a dedicated landing place on the census for News, Publications, Working Papers, and data.
About Migration and Place of Birth
Searching the American Community Survey
START Factfinder.census.gov Use Guided Search
TOPICS People
---Origins: Foreign Born
--- Other Characteristics: Civilian Population, housing, age, disability, employment
GEOGRAPHIES
Narrow to Counties and San Diego
ACS American Community Surveys Estimates
Foreign Born by region of birth
Europe, Africa, Northern America, Oceania, Asia, Latin America
* Selected Characteristics of Foreign-Born Populaton by Region (popular)
Place of birth by nativity and citizenshiop Status
Library OneSearch
Use the library home page to search on your community. You will need to use the filter features on the right.
Migration Studies and Research
Migration Studies Research
Migration Studies recommended sources
Use the library OneSearch for this interdisciplinary topic
San Diego -- Immigration over 11,000 articles
terms: Migration Studies, Immigrants, Diasporas
California Immigration, San Diego Immigration
Princeton University Library has an excellent guide on Migration Immigrants, Diasporas and Refugee Politics.
Search advanced google:
site:.gov or site:.ca.gov
Primary Sources Immigration History
Beyond the resources CSUSM offers students through the catalog and databases, there are a growing number of digital collections for free access. Here is a sampling with a focus on immigration and migration history, law, domestic issues and more.
- American Memory (US materials held by the Library of Congress)
- Diennial Historical Census (US Census Bureau)
- Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia)
- (ARC) Archival Research Catalog National Records and Archives' catalog
- Recommended by Dr. Kang is the WWII photos collection
- Immigration to the United States 1789-1930 (Harvard Open Access)
- Calisphere (University of California, mostly historical images, but some text)
- Including a gallery of sources on the Japanese relocation (internal migration) in WWII
- Internet Archive (a mix of text, moving images and sound files)
- UMedia Archive (University of Minnesota, mostly Eastern European immigrant photographs)
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 (Harvard)
- Women in World History: Primary Sources Follow the "Americas" link to see a range of primary documents
- Life Photo Archive (from Google)
- Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH)
Judy Opdahl
760-750-4307
KEL 3424