Marketing Essentials
Marketing Essentials for any Marketing class
Good places to start:
1. Country Segment to the left on this course guide for more.
GlobalEdge from Michigan State University is key to understanding a country.
2. Marketing Segment:
Passport by Euromonitor is the premier International Marketing analysis database. Register and watch the videos to get started.
3. Business News segment: Use the core news sources to get updated information on your cases.
Factiva is particularly useful for international coverage
Country Profiles and Culture
Country Culture for Business
Recommended Reading
Juergensmeyer, M. (Ed.). 2014. Thinking globally. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press. (e-book).
Thomas, D. C. & Inkson, K. (2009) Cultural intelligence: Living and working globally (2nd Ed.). San Francisco, CA: Berrett-Koehler.
Country Background
Global Edge (Michigan State Univ) Global Business Knowledge. MRKG 448
Do this First-- Recommend free registeration for best content access.
Quick Links:
Global Insights with links to country, industry, economic classification - emerging etc., trade bloc and more.
By Country --
- Country Comparator and Country Rankings interactive tool
- Country Commercial Guide
- BBC--Country Profile
By Industry (top level view only. See Library guides for industry for indepth
Other sources:
CIA World FactBook Short factual information on a country
CPI Corruption Perception Index - This is from Transpacrency International, check to see where you country falls on this index.
International Montetary Fund - Visit this site to learn more on your country.
Take a look at the DataMapper (to help choose a country based on criterion) and IMF Data link
Ourworldindata - "Our World in Data is a non-profit website that brings together the data and research on the powerful, long-run trends reshaping our world" (Source: About us: OurWorldInData.org).
(OECD) The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development visit the list of data & statistics for 36 countries (List of Counties)
Select Databases
Scholar.google.com Search the references from your primary case or article and see who has cited that article to research more recent literature. Use Get It at CSUSM, or free links. MKTG 448
Choose >>> Country Reports Select a report for example: Select Country Tab >>> India
Excellent Marketline reports in depth country profiles with chapter on social aspects of country.
Films on Demand Country Culture
Film clips on countries and management practices around the world. Custom clips can be embedded into your presentations.
Kanopy Films: Search Marketing Series 2: The 4 Ps. Videos with case examples, interviews on strategy.
Gobal Business Information
Euromonitor Passport MKTG 448
Consumer industries and country studies and in depth market reports and statistics
Can do a KEYWORD Search OR Use the Search "tree" [multiple ways to get at data]
Example: Industries (Top bar in black) >>> Select Hot Drinks >>> Use the Search Tree
Hot Drinks >>>Consumer Expenditure >>> hit blue arrow >>> add in geography >>>Latin America >>> Search
Results show Popular Statistics | Analysis | Combined Statistics
ABI/IINFORM (News, reports, data, Journals)
BMI Business Monitor International Country Reports
"Full-text journals, case studies, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world" (Source: ABI/INFORM).
Emerald Insight
Provides global perspectives scholarly articles with access to the fulltext of 100 journals in business and management, information science, and other disciplines.
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals in science, including subjects in social science: Business, Accounting & Management
Global Industry Research
Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)
Industry Research
Industry Reports prepared by expert analysts in this premium content. Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry. Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code.
IBISWorld US Industry reports. Search by keyword OR NAIC code (uses 5 digits of 6 digit codes).
Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain. Some Global and International Reports
First Research (Mergent Intellect)
Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels. Social Media feed updates on business and industry.
Mergent Online Go to the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports.
Use for major industries only, global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.
ABI Inform / Complete (Global )
Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and country reports.
- BMI Country Industry Reports
- BMI Global Oil Market Reports
- BMI Industry Insight Reports
- BMI Risk Reports
Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database)
Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis. Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.
PRINT SOURCE
S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652 3rd Floor Reference [Print ONLY]
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company. Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library. Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.
Industry Specific:
Hospitality --- BRASS Business Librarian recommendations for researching the hospitality industry.
Fashion: On the Front Lines when Currencies Shift
Local Industry Analysis
San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports (Website)
"San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation (EDC) regularly releases and sponsors research that provides a baseline of industry data to encourage and support economic investment. EDC also conducts studies on key industries and identify actions needed to spur growth in the region." (Source: San Diego Regional EDC).
San Diego Association of Governments [SANDAG] (Website)
SANDAG serves as the forum for regional decision-making for the San Diego
region. Resources such as Demographics and other data and publications will
be of interest.
Market Research Reports
Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports Detailed reporting. GBM 425 and SE MARKETING PROJECTS
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data. Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.
Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis.
Bizminer Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis. 9000 industries by sales. Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code. Update 6/18: Now shows Z-scores for credit strength and financial viability.
Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports. The source is often government and other agencies.
Books on Industry in the library.
Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.
Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)
Doing Business In...
Doing Business in ...
Recommended Sources for Doing Business in .... guides
GETTING STARTED --- Country Briefings
GlobalEDGE International Business -- START HERE
Covers free resources and links to research topics, countries, states, industries, and statistical tools. Created by Michigan State University, Broad College of Business.
Quick Links, especially:
- Country Commercial Guide
- BBC--Country Profile--verview, Facts, Leaders, Historial Timeline and of course latest news
- Left Nav Bar for detailed content on each country
Export.gov GBM 425
Country Commercial Guides (Doing business in ....) GBM 425
Industry Overviews
Market Updates
Multilateral Development Bank Reports
Best Markets
Industry / Regional Reports
Euromonitor Passport --GBM 425
Economies, Finance, and Trade
Details by category including FDI and other indicators by Country.
Analysis and Statistics by category and industry
Related Trade Database (US Census)
Exports: "A related-party export transaction is one between a U.S. exporter and a foreign consignee, where either party owns, directly or indirectly, 10 percent or more of the other party."
U.S. International Trade Statistics by NAICS and country
Craighead's international business, travel, and relocation guide to 90 countries. REF HF5549.5.E45 C73 2004 2 vol.
This title is getting a bit dated but has practical relocation info.
Business details, directories,
USA Trade Online For the advanced user. Import / export stats by commodity, country, state and port. In depth -- use to determine commodity volumn by country and rankings.
"A dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data" (Source: About USA Trade Online). Sign-in required.
Quick Start guide on the USA Trade Online
Country Risk Reports and Indicators
Doing Business: Benchmarking Business Regulations (World Bank)
Practical info on doing business in a selected country.
Compare and calculate business risk in over 175 countries. Topics cover all aspects of starting and operating businesses in the selected countries. Includes business law library in home language that include labor laws, tax and tariffs. Yearly World Bank Doing Business In ... reports available for download.
Recommended for GBM 425 and BA 616 view links for law library and download country report, some are more complete than others.
NationMaster GBM 425
Quickly compare two countries across categories
World Bank Open Data Browse by Country and Indicator
Look for Indicator -- Financial
IMF Data.org International Monetary Fund.
International financial statistics.
Dig deeper, latest news and analysis
Business Source Premier (Library database) GBM 425
Seach: Doing business in ........ to find articles on many countries.
Europa (The European Union Online)
Find news, activities, official documents and information sources including statistics.
Global Development Finance / World Bank.
Global Economic Prospects / World Bank.
These two flagship publications from the World Bank serve to track, record and forecast financial capital and economic forces for emerging countries.
International Country Statistics on the Web
Lists statistical agencies for each country. Through a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Web Site.
OECD - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
OECD Statistics Portal
Statistics arranged by topic and member country. Some topics are globalisation, Information and Communication Technology, Labor, Purchasing power.
OECD Stats by Theme
Comprehensive list of OECD statistical data collection programmes classified by theme.
OECD Data portal
Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: Charts, maps, tables, etc.
EUROPAGES
Described as a business-to-business directory for European business establishments. Search by product, service, company name, the directory returns company name, address, email, and maps and catalogs.
Selected countries
ProMexico Doing business in Mexico resources
China Business Research Guide
Best source for business guides to China. Compiled by University of Penn librarians.
International Target Market
Target Markets
Target Market (International)
Passport Euromonitor (csusm login)
Passport is an premium international consumer market database. It has statistics and analysis on 164 countries.
Consumer Trends and Lifestyles
Income and Expenditures
Population and Homes
Technology, Communications and Media
Choose multiple countries or trading blocks to compare.
Other resouces for products and markets
USA Trade Online (requires registration) Detailed import / export stats by port.
EXPORT.GOV
Export.gov Market Research Library
*****Great resource for Foreign Marketing Intelligence***
Go to the Country Commercial Guides (Doing Business in)
APA Format and Citing your Sources
APA Citations for Business
Common Business Citation Styles
Common Business Citations in APA Format and selected other links
How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)
Example:
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).
Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.
Recommended Citation Generators
A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.
KnightCite developed by Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite developed by Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.
Articles:
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval
How to find a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL, of the database name, http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic
Articles and News
News article
Wilmot, S. (2019). Electric Cars Have a Profit Problem --- Battery-powered vehicles are better for Wall Street than Detroit manufacturers. Wall Street Journal, pp. Wall Street Journal, 2019-05-14.
Articles, Scholarly, peer review
Sabir, S., Rafique, A., & Abbas, K. (2019). Institutions and FDI: Evidence from developed and developing countries. Financial Innovation, 5(1), 1-20.
Books:
Chapter in a book:
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.
Whole book:
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.
E-book, no DOI:
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from Safari Books.
Company
Template:
Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://homeurlonly.htm
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.
Examples: Entries in library databases:
ViaSat Inc. (n.d.). Retrieved from EbscoHost Business Source Premier.
Company website:
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website http://www.qualcomm.com/investor/index.html
Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.
Template:
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).
Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/ (courtesy of Owl at Purdue)
Example:
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from http://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture
Industry Statistics:
Example:
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved January 21, 2010 from the World Wide Web:
http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/IQRTable?_bm=y&-ds_name=EC0700A1&-….
Data Set (user created):
For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
Example:
SimplyAnalytics (2008). Give your data set a name in italics. Available from SimplyAnalytics
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.
Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.
Encyclopedia, No author:
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.
Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.
Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.
Legal Citation Formats
How to cite legal citations. Use the Cornell University Law School, Introduction to Basic Legal Citation.
Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.
Example:
Steuer, D. (2010). Section 2: Effects of economic downturn. 2010 county of San Diego economic roundtable. Retrieved January 21, 2010 from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YA9mzYwbUc8
Personal Communication (interview)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Your professor may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.
Example: (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.
REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
Judy Opdahl
760-750-4307
KEL 3424